#4

We’re hidden in the dark, covering our mouths so no one could hear the sounds of our breathing.
Footsteps are heard approaching.
Someone knocks on the door.
“POLICE, OPEN UP.”
We burst out in laughter and run up the stairs to the roof of this building.
I don’t think I’ve ever felt so alive as I held someone’s hand.
I didn’t care about where we were going or how we got there, as long as I got there with you.
Interrupting my thoughts, you yelled “God, this is fucking amazing!”
I think I was blue in the face of how much I laughed as I ran.
And as we finally reached the roof top, the door slammed right behind us.
As you walked ahead, you whispered “look.”
Right in front of us was the dark night sky, it was so beautiful.
Stars were laid out in front of us, we had front row tickets to the Earth’s art gala.
You stood there and tears formed in your eyes.
I don’t think I’ve ever seen you cry.
But, you turned to me and said “why do you do this?”
I simply answered “I’d do anything, as long as it’s with you.”
You looked at me & said “I love –”
Interruption.
The door behind us begins to rattle and the police shouting becomes clear as day.
We ran as fast as we could to hide, but it seemed like there was no where else to go.
Before we knew it, the door swung open and there we were, surrendered.
You took my hand and said ” I don’t care what happens right now, I just need you to know that I love you.”
I begin to tear up, knowing that’s the last of you I’ll see.
I couldn’t breath, was this really happening?
And in the blink of an eye, they took you away from me.
My heart was ripped out from its very seams.
And as I was left alone on that rooftop, I sobbed for hours on end.
And years later, I still sob for hours on end.
Because it was you, who raised my blood pressure to dangerous levels, knowing that I’d love the feeling.
It was you who guarded me from the bad and kept me safe from it all.
And without you, I feel so empty.
But as I lay out here on the porch of my house, I look at the sky, the very one we saw 20 years ago, and I wonder if maybe you’re tearing up and asking “why’d she do it?”
With a smile on my face, and tears welling up in my eyes, I whisper “I’d do anything, as long as it’s with you.”

